We are now living in Marion Indiana and I have bought a few tanks, so far only the 55 gallon tank and the 26 gallon tank will be set up for sure.

Here i will post about my latest collecting/fishing adventure….

We got up early in the morning and headed off. on the way we had planned to stop at  the only creation museum in existence. I had been wanting to go there  for more then 6 years and we were finally going to go!

After three hours in the car we got there.

After getting in we wandered around looking at the fossils, displays and exhibits.

 

Cópia de P9190001

Cópia de P9190003Cópia de P9190005

One show, called SNAKES ALIVE caught my attention and it was scheduled to start in 5 minutes we bought our tickets and for the next hour I held snakes, learned about them and answered questions about them.

Some of the snakes featured were several varieties of Corn snakes, Ball pythons, California kingsnakes, African sand boas, Bullsnakes, and so much more!

 

Corn snake

Corn snakeBullsnake

Ball python

Ball python

A box turtle

A box turtle

Cópia de P9190020

Milksnake

Milksnake

Corn snake

Corn snake

I look TERRIBLE!

I look TERRIBLE!

Cópia de P9190029Cópia de P9190028

California kingsnake

California kingsnake

Gopher snake

Gopher snake

 

A very rare color morph

A very rare color morph

 

 

Bullsnake

Bullsnake

Lots of corns!

Lots of corns!

 Cópia de P9190055

Cópia de P9190054

Cópia de P9190053

Cópia de P9190050

He was heavy!

He was heavy!

Cópia de P9190043

Cópia de P9190041

 

 

At the end he showed a box of baby cornsnakes he had bred. Abinos and a few other variants. He said the normal variant was $35 and the fancy ones were $45 I chose an original colored one. It came with a small terrarium substrate and a water dish!

We took him along with us for the rest of the trip.

When we got to Zanesville our hosts took us to the lake where we were going to camp at. We packed all of our bags into the canoes and rowed to our campsite.

Cópia de P9190067

After we got all of our stuff set up I was anxious to start fishing and soon me and one of our kind hosts set out.

I tied a Rapala countdown on my line and on my second cast I had a bite! I Set the hook and reeled in. The bass fought really hard and then it jumped, a big largemouth! It dived under the boat. My rod dipped into the water i pulled back but suddenly it jerked to a halt. I pulled but my line wouldnt budge I let the line out so it was loose but it didnt move. Finally i felt the rod pull again, it was still on!  This time i was able to bring him up and grab  him. He weighed in at .66 kilograms or about 1 pound and three ounces and was 14 inches long!

Cópia de P9190069

Cópia de P9190072

We continued fishing and soon after I had another bite it was getting dark and visibility was poor. I thought it was a catfish but soon saw that it was not. When i finally got it close to the boat and netted it i realized it was a walleye! I reached into the net to grab it when it wriggled, and got the hook in me! It struggled and succeeded in hooking me even deeper, almost pass the barbel. I pulled it out and measured the walleye. It was 13 inches but I did not weigh it.

Cópia de P9190080

Soon we had to go back and soon were sitting by the warm fire. At about midnight our host, an incredible genius when it comes to animals, took us out to call for owls. He explained their calls and habits and told us about their eyes compared to ours.

First he called for the barred owl and i thought i heard him answering but was not sure.

Next he called for the screech owl and two answered a lot but didnt come close.

The next morning I got up at the crack of dawn and fished at the little dock. I didnt get anything and soon paddled around in the canoe this time. Our host caught two fish, a crappie and a small bass while I only caught a small sunfish.

As time wore on I switched lures several times until I picked a topwater Rapala Skitter pop. We were going along the edge of the lake when we heard splashes. we looked and we saw small fish jumping in the water pursued by larger fish.

I casted into the midst of the jumping shad and right away there was a huge splash and my lure dissapeared! I set the hook hard and the battle was on. It bent the rod and pulled at the drag. Finally i pulled it to the surface, it was a beutiful striped bass! It looked me in the eye and dived under but the lure didnt go with it. I think it was probably about two pounds and 15 inches long.

We didnt catch anything else.

After eating breakfast and having a devotional, we sang songs by the river.

Spider web

Spider web.

Cópia de P9200112

Cópia de P9200107

Our host showing us a poisonous berry that can serve as ink.

Our host showing us a poisonous berry that can serve as ink.

 

After breaking camp we took most of our equipment back on canoes and when we got back from that, we set off again, this time on the river for our first class of river mapping. We rowed upstream a little and stopped to eat on a sandbar. I started fishing with a spinner but caught nothing. One of our host opened the world of darters before my eyes as he netted, identified, and released them again to their natural habitat of fast flowing water and algae covered stones below the surface

Mussel shells

Mussel shells

Cópia de P9200120 Cópia de P9200122

I attempted to catch darters and succeeded in catching two bullheads and an equal amount of channel catfish. I finally caught my first darter, a greensided darter. After catching a few more greensides, a different species turned up in my net.  Cópia de P9200133

A rainbow darter! This was deffinately the prettiest darter i had ever seen and imediately i knew i wanted one of these in my new 26 gallon tank.

Rainbow darter

I continued fishing and soon a johnny darter turned up with the carachteristic Ws on its body.

Johnny darter

Johnny darterBefore we left our host had found several species of incredible mussells. Channel cats

Bullhead

Bullhead

We went down the river this time and mapped it out using landmarks, like trees sandbars, rocks and creeks or eddies.

As we were going down we decided to stop at one more place to look for more darters. all i turned up were hundreds of flourescent purple shiners. finally we crossed the river to were a creek flowed into it. Once again we fished for darters and finally caught a greensided one. it was raining fairly hard and our maps were almost getting to wet too write anymore.

We heard rushing water as we once again paddled down the river  and soon came to rapids which we passed without difficulty.

Finally we had to stop it was already 5 and we had a long ways ahead of us that night.

At the end of the trip, dirty yet happy.

At the end of the trip, dirty yet happy.

 

Back to my endless prattle about snakes and tanks….

I have most everything for the 55 gallon tank and a lot for the 26 gallon tank. I have yet to get substrate for either tank and have a swimming pool for my snake yet to be made.

The 26 gallon tank will house darters. It will be about 5 inches deep and   have black gravel on the bottom so that the color of the fish will stand out more. there will be one or two air pumps for oxyogen and filter for movement.

I will make some form of land and will keep a paddletail newt or something. I hope to have up to 5 species of darters.

My new cornsnake!!!

My new cornsnake!!!

 Cópia de P9210156

Cópia de P9210185

About Hudson

Fish enthusiast in the heart of the Amazon.

One response »

  1. […] One and only Creation Museum and canoe trip. *Fishing* September 2009 Possibly related posts: (automatically generated)Blog stats reach 100,000OK, Fess Up, Who is it?   LikeBe the first to like this post. […]

Leave a Reply

