I caught this fish a month or so ago on the Rio Negro. since then he has been living in my tanks, only coming out to forage for food. Today he was very lively zooming through the tank reminding me to move him to a longer tank. He will have to stay put for a few more weeks though, then he can go into my 35 gallon aquarium.

The current aquarium is 27 inches long and contains about 17 gallons and I am guessing this fish is about 4 inches.

In the first week he was succesful in eating a few of my tetras that I had caught with him, and he has been growing very fast ever since, he has probably grown an inch in the last month. I know that in a few months this fish will grow larger and fade into a dull brown. But until then I am going to enjoy every moment I see him gliding along the bottom of the tank.

Most of the time I am not a huge catfish person and if it doesn’t move all day, eventually its going, but this fish is incredibly striking in person. I am so blessed to be able to have kept this fish as a juvenile.

About Hudson

Fish enthusiast in the heart of the Amazon.

One response »

  1. YAY! I LOVE FISH! That fish looks really awesome! I love the colours andthe whiskers. 🙂

Leave a Reply

