I got really excited about some of these pictures, though I took about 300 pictures only about 20 were worth posting.

I missed two great opportunities while photographing my new Crenicichla reticulata, once, it yawned while I was trying to focus on him and once, when I got an excellent shot of him displaying to my Leiarius pictus… the problem was that the head, from the gills forward were cut out of the picture.

I made it all up when I got photo of it yawning front and center of the tank. Despite an obvious shadow, I was very happy with the shot.

My Cichlasoma portalagrensis was not as shy as it usually was, but I mostly ended up with less then decent shots. I did have some success with a few profile shots of the head.

Photographing the Leiarius pictus is a headache. It hides all day until you feed it. When it comes out it reminds me of Roadrunner. Once it starts it doesn’t stop, just swims at the speed of light around the tank until it has eaten all of the food. Then it curls up beneath the driftwood again. Good luck getting a picture without motion blur! So after a half an hour trying to photograph it I came up with zero satisfactory shots.

I had a similar problem with the Geophagus. They didn’t necessarily move quickly, but they never stopped moving. I did get a few shots with both of them in the same photo though even if they did look like tinfoil due to the flash.

I did have some trouble with my unidentified Crenicichla juvenile, but this was balanced out by one of the best shots I have ever taken of a fish. It starts with a new piece of driftwood I found at the last collection expedition. The wood happens to have a deep crevasse-like hole in it and the hole happened to be situated right next to the glass of the tank. I had my camera and saw that the pike was in the hole watching me; I snapped a few pictures, each time getting a little closer. As I got closer for the final shot the pike, who was a bit camera shy retreated into the driftwood, only his head showed when the flash went off, perfectly illuminating his head, only his head.

Its one of those shots that you have no idea how it will turn out, or even if it will be focused right.

About Hudson

Fish enthusiast in the heart of the Amazon.

Leave a Reply

