A little less than a month ago I took a trip to a village on the opposite side of the Rio Negro called Manacapuru. I was hoping to find some cool apistos but at the end of the trip I had very little success.

We parked the car on the ferry and after a half an hour or so the ferrysped away across the horizo err… inched, as if in slow motion, to the other side. It took about 45 minutes to get to the small town on the other side, Iranduba.

We drove for another 45 minutes to the city of Manacapuru where we would stay for the next few days.

Our neighbors had some exotic looking birds.

 

The next morning I got to see the water bird getting fed. I was watching from our house using my zoom to get me closer.

Our neighbors on the other side had another type of parrot.

The next day we saw another parrot my favorite of them all.

It was tiny, less than four inches from tail to beak.

The above bird is not native to the Amazon region

A small water bird spotted from the boat in the Water Hyacinth

About Hudson

Fish enthusiast in the heart of the Amazon.

One response »

  1. Grace from Brazil says:

    Cool, Hudson. I never saw the tiny parrot. I love hearing about these trips through your lens and persepective.

Leave a Reply

