So I am still on summer break and continue to go to the Ponta Negra to fish every week. But I haven’t really been catching much… actually nothing. This week I went early in the morning and got to my fishing place by 8:00 in the morning. Two days before, I had bought a new topwater lure and this was my first chance to try it out. For the first hour and a half or so I didn’t catch anything, not even a bite. I kept walking along the shore and wondering if the lure was too big until a fish lunged up from the rocks and hit the lure. It was a miss but when I twitched it again the fish hit it again this time more carefully but still with a a little extra “splash”. This time I set the hook and felt the fish tugging down, then it sped away to the submerged bushes. It didn’t tie itself up fortunately. It rose to the surface and jumped out of the water. After a fierce back and forth tug-of-war I pulled the fish onto dry land and it promptly spit the hook and I jumped on it so it couldn’t get back to the water. It was only 17 inches but it put up a good fight.

About Hudson

Fish enthusiast in the heart of the Amazon.

Leave a Reply

