I got up at the crack of dawn and after throwing on my clothes headed to the Ponta Negra where I fish every week.

 I got the buses without waiting at all and got to the river at right around 7:15, possibly the earliest I have ever made it.

One of the busses I use to get to the Ponta Negra

I hadn’t been having much luck at the place where I normally fished at, so I walked to a small stream. There were no fish in the stream but at the place that it intersected the river provided a perfect place for fish where a bunch of dead vegetation was trapped attracting baitfish and predatory fish. I used a new Rebel popper and almost immediately had a bite. The first fish got away but the next was not so lucky. It was my first Traira (Hoplias Malabaricus) I had ever caught on a topwater lure.

It was followed up by another, smaller one. The next fish up was entirely different, to this day I don’t know exactly what it was but I do know I have never seen one before.

I did not take any fish home since all of them were very aggressive species. The last one did tempt me but was not resistant enough for the ride back.

It was on a saturday and on the way back there were a lot of nice cars.

About Hudson

Fish enthusiast in the heart of the Amazon.

One response »

  1. Wonderful to read your posts again. They just seem to brighten my day. : )

Leave a Reply

