In case you arent up to date with the weather in Boa Vista, the rainy season is just starting and the smallest forest creeks have dried up, something I didn’t know, walking in the open field to a distant line of Buriti palm trees. These trees grow almost anywhere that there is water throughout the year, and generally where ever you can find these trees, there is a little creek running through the soft mud below. Unfortunately this was not the case here as the water had dried up completely and I couldnt even find mud. So I took a few pictures and made my way back to the farm.

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Fortunately though I asked around and there was a water hole about a kilometer away. When I arrived however I was a little dismayed whenI saw that the water was completely opaque.

Image

There was no water coming or leaving and fortunately for the fish in a few weeks the rainy season would start full force and they would be rescued just in time. Oh, did I mention there were fish? The first fish was a pair of Candiru. Slightly disconcerting since I began to realize how common they were having caught them everywhere I fished.

Image

All of the fish collected at the stream were completely washed out, no spangles, bars, and spots. Below a Acaronia nassa

Image

I caught a lot of gymnotid eels here.

Image

And yes, I caught apistos. Rupununi and Laetecara

Image

A sign of things to come….

Image

About Hudson

Fish enthusiast in the heart of the Amazon.

Leave a Reply

